Seven Random Facts about Myself

I know that most of this won’t be a surprise to my kids, they know me very well.

1. When I was a kid, I wanted to have 14 children, because I thought you needed close to that to be able to have a station wagon. Plus I really loved little kids.

2. The first time I made muffins from scratch I was 10 years old. It was the same night Charlie Brown and The Great Pumpkin was on for the first time. I kept running into the living room to watch, and the muffins didn’t taste very good.

3. I almost joined the military when I finished high school. I was seriously thinking about the Navy or Air Force, though the Army recruiter was really trying to get me to join.

4. I learned to knit when I was 12, taught by Dorothy Brown in my 6th grade class.

5. I learned to sew when I was 13, taught by my Aunt Ann. I still have the patterns we used that summer. One of them made it onto the blog(now defunct) Threadbared.

6. I love Showtunes. I could listen to them day and night.

7. I used to have Elton John’s autograph…gotten at a Sears in Honolulu, where he was doing an album promotion. It was his second or third album, and he hadn’t hit it huge yet.

1 Comment

Filed under this'n'that

One response to “Seven Random Facts about Myself

  1. C.

    Stupid post office. Stole your autograph. On the upside, you can always remember your gift of Elton John has made the world just a little more gay.

    Still, it would have been nice if Elton could have helped me pay for college.

    Just kidding, of course. I’m planning to drop out and be a showgirl anyway, just like him.

Leave a Reply

