It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas

Here is this years tree. My ace light-stringer is off riding helicopters over the sand, so I had to do it myself. Note at the bottom of the tree, there are presents. Wrapped presents. Yes, I know, it isn’t 2 am Christmas morning. I am hoping this year to be asleep at that time, for the first time in about a decade and a half.

thetree.jpg

This picture comes from our trip to Joni’s at Thanksgiving. We went to downtown Noblesville to check it out(it was so pretty and a very nice village atmosphere). I was really pleased by this banner.
noblesville.jpg

3 Comments

Filed under Army, Family, holidays, Places to see

3 responses to “It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas

  1. Emily

    That tree is tre full! It looks really pretty

  2. Wow, you can actually put wrapped gifts under the tree and THEY WILL STAY THERE?!?!?!

    I can’t even imagine what that must be like. Nor can I imagine being able to put ornaments on the WHOLE tree, and not just the top 20%. (And guess who figured out he can reach even higher if he stands on a chair?)

    Oh, and “for the first time in about a decade and a half” is slightly factually incorrect… it’s only been a decade since your ace gift wrapper left for college. 😉

  3. C.

    Christmas in the B. house is freezing. I am just realizing now that the reason the last several years’ Christmases have been so weird–subtly off, and I know I never mentioned it because I didn’t realize what it was until just now when I looked at the picture of the tree, the tree that I guarantee is as we speak shedding splintery needles all over the living room floor–is that the Blinn house is almost never not cold. It’s drafty and has unfinished wooden floors that transmit cold, and splinters, and a single hard burlap colorless carpet that also gives splinters, and sterile, cold pale walls in the living room, and wind coming up the stairwell into all our rooms, and all that drafty coldness makes it feel exposed and bare and that in turn makes me feel so uncomfortable that it makes me have an undertone of misery to the holiday. No wonder everyone crowds into the kitchen. It’s the only room in the house with a stove and a warm Mom.

    So yeah. Paint the living room red or get some tapestries or something, because woman of mine, that house can’t take another year looking like the surgical wing.

    Tree looks gorgeous, by the way. Any hotties working the tractors this year? 😉

Leave a Reply

