It’s a good thing I was sort of prepared for this.

From General Lynch: Today the Secretary of Defense and the Secretary of the Army announced that active component Army units will now have standard deployments of 15 months.

Fortunately(?) I have been preparing for Rob to be gone for 18 months, so IF he is gone 15, it’s better. I feel bad for all the families who have soldiers over there expecting a 12 month deployment, as those are being extended to 15 months. I believe in what he is doing, but having him gone that long is just hard!

3 Comments

Filed under Family

3 responses to “It’s a good thing I was sort of prepared for this.

  1. Kae

    Oh Cindy, I heard this on the radio, and was thinking about all of the families of those deployed and yet to go. This is so tough…I wish things weren’t the way they are, but that won’t change anything. This is a hard time to be serving, as there is so much controversy. The last thing we need to do is make people feel as though their service is of no value. Sometimes I wonder where this country is headed, but thank the Lord for good people like you and your family! May the time go quickly for all when the time comes! God Bless!!!!

  2. nancy (guitarnan)

    Cindy, I had heard this was coming, too. Sounds like your approach is the best one…plan for long deployments, so you can rejoice instead of feel disappointed. I have done this when my husband was deployed at sea, with success. You and your family are in my prayers, for sure.

    Hugs from one military wife to another, braver one…

Leave a Reply

